Duncan Laurence wins Eurovision 2019 for the Netherlands

Maio, 2019

Duncan Laurence has won the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest for the Netherlands with the song 'Arcade', written and composed by Duncan himself, Joel Sjöö and Wouter Hardy. Duncan Laurence ended a 44 year wait for a fifth Eurovision Song Contest victory for the Netherlands. The last winner was Teach In back in 1975. The Netherlands won last saturday with a total of 492 points (231 from the expert juries and 261 from the international televotes). Italy finished in second place and Russia came third. 

The Netherlands has participated in the Eurovision Song Contest 60 times since making its debut as one of the seven countries at the first contest in 1956. The Netherlands has won the contest five times, with Corry Brokken in 1957, Teddy Scholten in 1959, Lenny Kuhr in a four-way tie in 1969, Teach-In in 1975, and this year with Duncan Laurence. Congratulations Netherlands!